Tag: Utah Seat Belt Laws

Preventing Criminal Charges

Recently KSL released an article based on Utah Drivers. By avoiding these common mistakes you can stay out of court.

Memorial Day marks the beginning of the ‘100 Deadliest Days’ for travel on Utah roadways. This means from Memorial Day to Labor Day deadly crashes nearly double compared to the rest of the year. Making summer the deadliest time to drive in Utah. With 94 percent of all deadly crashes being caused by people making bad choices – learn from the below mistakes and don’t be one of them.

Here’s the list of all-too-common mistakes and what NOT to do while driving this summer:

Text / email / tweet / post / snap … while driving

And the distracted driver thinks he/she is driving like this:


When in reality their driving looks more like this:


And in all seriousness, last year distracted drivers killed 27 people and seriously injured 147. Multi-tasking is a myth, you’re either driving or you’re texting, but you can’t do both. Don’t be the idiot on the road this summer, choose to drive focused.

Not signaling a turn

Assuming other drivers will see you and understand your intentions, is never a good game plan. Turn signals are the original instant message of driving. Use them!


Merging into a lane without bothering to see if anyone is already there, or without checking blind spots

This is especially dangerous if a motorcycle or bike happen to be in your blind spot. Always look twice before switching lanes or turning.


Pulling over and stopping on the left side of the freeway near the fast lane


Remember drivers, if you get clipped by a car going 70 mph it’s what we call a serious crash. The best place to pull over is off the freeway. But if you can’t make it that far, settle for the far right shoulder.

Getting out of a vehicle on a busy freeway


If you get hit by a car on the freeway, as a pedestrian, your chances of survival are slim to none. So if you’re stalled on a busy freeway, stay in your vehicle buckled and call 911.

Driving drunk, buzzed, high or impaired in any way


The choice to drink and then drive is selfish and deadly. Call an uber, get a cab, call a friend or sleep it off. AND make sure your friends do the same.

Paying more attention to the party in the car than what’s happening on the road


Bet you didn’t know this: The two biggest distractions on Utah roads are cell phones and passengers. So stop distracting your driver.

Driving more asleep than awake


Only a microsecond of sleep can spell disaster. If you’re tired, pull over or switch drivers.

Instead of missing the exit … you turn into a crazy person and cut everyone off


Just don’t. If you can’t safely make the exit: take deep breaths and take the next exit. Being involved in a crash isn’t worth it.

Tailgating … tailgating … tailgating!


Tailgating is bullying, no one likes a bully … don’t be a bully.



One of the key reasons so many crashes are deadly in summer is because drivers are more likely to speed. Why, you say? Well when roads are clear and dry, more drivers think “it’s okay” to disregard the speed limit. Speed limits were set for a reason.

Not wearing a seat belt


Why is this still an issue? Buckle up or don’t drive. Seat belts save lives.

Don’t choose this:


To learn more about what you can do to protect yourself and your family from a deadly crash this summer, visit http://ut.zerofatalities.com/100-deadliest-days/. Don’t let your summer memories end in tragedy. Drive smart. Drive safe. Make Zero Fatalities your goal.


If an arrest has happened one may be unsure of what processes one will be facing in the near future. The next couple of months the most important information to remember is the timeline. DUI Defense Attorney American Fork and DUI Defense Attorney Ogden are experienced Utah DUI or Metabolite DUI Attorney’s.

Drivers License Privileges are COMPLETELY SEPARATE from the criminal case. The DL Division may be suspended or revoked the license. If you want to keep your License you must contact the Drivers License division within ten days of the arrest in writing. This has to be done in writing.  Call an American Fork DUI Lawyer, Salt Lake City DUI Lawyer or Ogden DUI Lawyer

Dui in Utah is tricky and with some expertise from an American Fork Criminal Defense Attorney, Salt Lake DUI Attorney an Ogden Criminal Defense Attorney one will successfully navigate the charges faced. Contact Stevens Gailey Today.

Felony and Misdemeanor DUI

Being charged with a DUI in the state of Utah can be a little unnerving and it requires some experienced legal counsel if you choose to be represented. Utah has very firm penalties for DUI cases. You can be charged with a DUI in both state or district courts. Conviction rates are very high in this state. When you are charged it does not mean that you have been convicted. There are misdemeanor and felony charges for driving under the influence. The penalties for both are very different. Drunk driving defense

A good attorney will help you in your case to represent you and prove your innocence. They can also help limit or find the best outcome by working with the prosecutor before a plea or conviction is accepted. Your American Fork Criminal Defense Attorney or Ogden Criminal Defense Attorney is knowledgeable and can fight for your rights. Have a strong defense is your best bet when you are charged with a DUI. Dui attorney utah

In Utah the criminal code is set up to categorize different crimes into classes of felonies and misdemeanors. The greater offense would be a felony and they carry heavy sentences and sometimes will have longer jail or prison sentences than a misdemeanor. The courts consider history and impact or injury in each case. The severity or the crime will determine which class the DUI will call into. The more severe the injuries the greater the chance for a felony DUI. Dui attorney utah

There are certain criteria that can change a misdemeanor DUI to a felony by a process called upgrading. This includes prior offense. After (3) DUI offenses a misdemeanor DUI may become a felony. Victims of your DUI dying from injuries sustained in the accident or any history of death by vehicle including homicide. A conviction history becomes a key player in your case. The more DUI offenses you have the more likely your current charges are to be upgraded or enhanced. Salt lake city dui attorney

Some of the penalties for a felony could include jail from 2 months to 5 years in prison. Fines from $2700-$9000, treatment program participation, probation and loss of driving privileges. Dui attorney utah

Felony and Misdemeanor DUI

Misdemeanor DUI charges involve cases where there were not as severe circumstances. They can include some very serious consequences. The laws are specific on repeat offenders. It is imperative to avoid conviction on and DUI.  There is a sentencing hearing that is for less serious criminal offenses. These sentences include jail time. As little as 48 hours and some times up to 10 days on your second offense. The maximum jail sentence is often 6 months in the county jail. All DUI sentences will include some type of fine and most likely a suspension to the driving privileges. Best criminal defense attorneyBest criminal defense lawyer

The first time could have a suspension from 120 days to two years and after your second offense your license could be suspended for up to two years. Fines range from approximately $1400-$1900 and sometimes include additional fines and fees. Probation may be a term of your sentence and first offenders can get lessened probation. Repeat offenders may be placed on supervised probation. Utah criminal defense attorney

Prime for Life classes have been tested to help assist and reduce the chances of repeat offenders. Utah imposes screenings for drug and alcohol. This may be in combination with classes for drug and alcohol abuse. Convicted offenders are required in Utah to attend the classes in an effort to limit the risk of repeating DUI behaviors. Utah attorneys

American Fork Criminal Defense Lawyer Ogden Criminal Defense Lawyer Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Lawyer at Stevens and Gailey are here to help you through your DUI.  Call us today for your Free Consultation.

If you have been accused of DUI, Felony DUI, Metabolite DUI, First DUI, Driving While Impaired, Drivers License Violation, Driving on a Suspended Liscense, Third DUI, Multiple DUI, DUI Offense, felony charges, misdemeanor charges  in Utah, you may want to speak with criminal attorneys Ogden  about criminal law Ogden. Further, Ogden Criminal defense is an experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys in Provo Utah can assist you in understanding all of your alternatives. The best criminal defense attorneys in Ogden or best criminal defense attorney in Lehi can help with your case. The best criminal defense attorney in Lehi or Ogden criminal defense attorney Stevens can help if you are faced with a Protective order violation. Ogden Criminal Defense is here to help. Ogden Criminal Lawyer, Vince Stevens can help. HD Gailey lawyers in American Fork are the best criminal defense attorneys Ogden, DUI Attorney Salt Lake, DUI Attorney Utah, DUI Attorney, DUI Attorney Utah County, DUI Attorney Ogden, DUI Lawyer Utah, Lawyer DUI Utah, Lawyer DUI Salt Lake, Lawyer DUI Ogden, Lawyer DUI American Fork. 



Seat belt laws are divided into two categories: primary and secondary. Primary seat belt laws allow officers to ticket a driver or passenger for not wearing a seat belt without any other traffic offense taking place. Secondary seat belt laws state that law enforcement officers may issue a ticket for not wearing a seat belt only when there is another citable traffic infraction.
Utah Governor Gary R. Herbert recently signed House Bill 79, which was passed by the Utah Legislature this year. The new law went into effect May 12, 2015 and allows patrolmen statewide to pull over drivers seen not wearing their seat belts.
The new law allows drivers one “free” warning before they can be cited. He said while the first violation is just a warning, after that, if the driver is pulled over again for the same violation they can be ticketed $45.
While the no seat belt ticket is considered a non-moving violation, which means it doesn’t collect points on one’s driving record, it does show up on your license.

Read more: KCSG Television – Utah s primary seat belt law gets thumbs up from UHP