Month: December 2016

Felony and Misdemeanor DUI

Being charged with a DUI in the state of Utah can be a little unnerving and it requires some experienced legal counsel if you choose to be represented. Utah has very firm penalties for DUI cases. You can be charged with a DUI in both state or district courts. Conviction rates are very high in this state. When you are charged it does not mean that you have been convicted. There are misdemeanor and felony charges for driving under the influence. The penalties for both are very different. Drunk driving defense

A good attorney will help you in your case to represent you and prove your innocence. They can also help limit or find the best outcome by working with the prosecutor before a plea or conviction is accepted. Your American Fork Criminal Defense Attorney or Ogden Criminal Defense Attorney is knowledgeable and can fight for your rights. Have a strong defense is your best bet when you are charged with a DUI. Dui attorney utah

In Utah the criminal code is set up to categorize different crimes into classes of felonies and misdemeanors. The greater offense would be a felony and they carry heavy sentences and sometimes will have longer jail or prison sentences than a misdemeanor. The courts consider history and impact or injury in each case. The severity or the crime will determine which class the DUI will call into. The more severe the injuries the greater the chance for a felony DUI. Dui attorney utah

There are certain criteria that can change a misdemeanor DUI to a felony by a process called upgrading. This includes prior offense. After (3) DUI offenses a misdemeanor DUI may become a felony. Victims of your DUI dying from injuries sustained in the accident or any history of death by vehicle including homicide. A conviction history becomes a key player in your case. The more DUI offenses you have the more likely your current charges are to be upgraded or enhanced. Salt lake city dui attorney

Some of the penalties for a felony could include jail from 2 months to 5 years in prison. Fines from $2700-$9000, treatment program participation, probation and loss of driving privileges. Dui attorney utah

Felony and Misdemeanor DUI

Misdemeanor DUI charges involve cases where there were not as severe circumstances. They can include some very serious consequences. The laws are specific on repeat offenders. It is imperative to avoid conviction on and DUI.  There is a sentencing hearing that is for less serious criminal offenses. These sentences include jail time. As little as 48 hours and some times up to 10 days on your second offense. The maximum jail sentence is often 6 months in the county jail. All DUI sentences will include some type of fine and most likely a suspension to the driving privileges. Best criminal defense attorneyBest criminal defense lawyer

The first time could have a suspension from 120 days to two years and after your second offense your license could be suspended for up to two years. Fines range from approximately $1400-$1900 and sometimes include additional fines and fees. Probation may be a term of your sentence and first offenders can get lessened probation. Repeat offenders may be placed on supervised probation. Utah criminal defense attorney

Prime for Life classes have been tested to help assist and reduce the chances of repeat offenders. Utah imposes screenings for drug and alcohol. This may be in combination with classes for drug and alcohol abuse. Convicted offenders are required in Utah to attend the classes in an effort to limit the risk of repeating DUI behaviors. Utah attorneys

American Fork Criminal Defense Lawyer Ogden Criminal Defense Lawyer Salt Lake City Criminal Defense Lawyer at Stevens and Gailey are here to help you through your DUI.  Call us today for your Free Consultation.

If you have been accused of DUI, Felony DUI, Metabolite DUI, First DUI, Driving While Impaired, Drivers License Violation, Driving on a Suspended Liscense, Third DUI, Multiple DUI, DUI Offense, felony charges, misdemeanor charges  in Utah, you may want to speak with criminal attorneys Ogden  about criminal law Ogden. Further, Ogden Criminal defense is an experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys in Provo Utah can assist you in understanding all of your alternatives. The best criminal defense attorneys in Ogden or best criminal defense attorney in Lehi can help with your case. The best criminal defense attorney in Lehi or Ogden criminal defense attorney Stevens can help if you are faced with a Protective order violation. Ogden Criminal Defense is here to help. Ogden Criminal Lawyer, Vince Stevens can help. HD Gailey lawyers in American Fork are the best criminal defense attorneys Ogden, DUI Attorney Salt Lake, DUI Attorney Utah, DUI Attorney, DUI Attorney Utah County, DUI Attorney Ogden, DUI Lawyer Utah, Lawyer DUI Utah, Lawyer DUI Salt Lake, Lawyer DUI Ogden, Lawyer DUI American Fork. 

Theft In Utah

Theft Charges Utah

In Utah, the law reads:

A person commits theft if he obtains or exercises unauthorized control over the property of another with a purpose to deprive his thereof.

Click Here for : Utah Code Ann. § 76-6-404

Theft of property and services as provided in this chapter is punishable:

(a) as a second degree felony if the:

(i) value of the property or services is or exceeds $5,000;

property stolen is a firearm or an operable motor vehicle;

(iii) actor is armed with a dangerous weapon, as defined in Section 76-1-601, at the time of the theft; or(iv) property is stolen from the person of another;
(b) as a third degree felony if:(i) the value of the property or services is or exceeds $1,500 but is less than $5,000;(ii) the actor has been twice before convicted of any of the offenses listed in Subsections (1)(b)(ii)(A) through (1)(b)(ii)(C), if each prior offense was committed within 10 years of the date of the current conviction or the date of the offense upon which the current conviction is based and at least one of those convictions is for a class A misdemeanor:

(A) any theft, any robbery, or any burglary with intent to commit theft;

(B) any offense under Title 76, Chapter 6, Part 5, Fraud; or

(C) any attempt to commit any offense under Subsection (1)(b)(ii)(A) or (B);

(iii) in a case not amounting to a second degree felony, the property taken is a stallion, mare, colt, gelding, cow, heifer, steer, ox, bull, calf, sheep, goat, mule, jack, jenny, swine, poultry, or a fur-bearing animal raised for commercial purposes; or

(iv)
(A) the value of property or services is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500;

(B) the theft occurs on a property where the offender has committed any theft within the past five years; and

(C) the offender has received written notice from the merchant prohibiting the offender from entering the property pursuant to Section 78B-3-108;

(v) the actor has been twice before convicted of any of the offenses listed in Subsections (1)(b)(ii)(A) through (1)(b)(ii)(C), if each prior offense was committed within 10 years of the date of the current conviction or the date of the offense upon which the current conviction is based and the value of the property stolen is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500; or

(vi) the actor has been previously convicted of a felony violation of any of the offenses listed in Subsections (1)(b)(ii)(A) through (1)(b)(ii)(C);

(c) as a class A misdemeanor if:

(i) the value of the property stolen is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500;

(ii) (A) the value of property or services is less than $500;

(B) the theft occurs on a property where the offender has committed any theft within the past five years; and

(C) the offender has received written notice from the merchant prohibiting the offender from entering the property pursuant to Section 78B-3-108; or

(iii) the actor has been twice before convicted of any of the offenses listed in Subsections (1)(b)(ii)(A) through (1)(b)(ii)(C), if each prior offense was committed within 10 years of the date of the current conviction or the date of the offense upon which the current conviction is based; or

(d) as a class B misdemeanor if the value of the property stolen is less than $500 and the theft is not an offense under Subsection (1)(c).

(2) Any individual who violates Subsection 76-6-408(1) or Section 76-6-413, or commits theft of property described in Subsection 76-6-412(1)(b)(iii), is civilly liable for three times the amount of actual damages, if any sustained by the plaintiff, and for costs of suit and reasonable attorney fees.

In essence, Utah considers theft charges if you take something of another person, family member, business or the like. The act of keeping it, selling it or not returning it constitutes theft.

Further, there are other theft charges that may be assessed (Click on the link For Utah Code) which can include:

 

Penalties You May Be Facing

In all states there are criminal penalties codes. In Utah, just as in other states, there are penalties, fines and punishments set according and determined primarily by the value of what was stolen. Utah is unique in the respect that they also classify some of the theft cases by looking at what the actual property or item was that happened to be stolen or procured. In fact, in Utah you can be charged with a felony regardless of the value of the item due to the actual classification.

Utah Code: 76-6-412 States:

 

 

A law unique to Utah also includes the civil penalties. A shoplifter can be required to pay the shop owner. This could include:
What Penalties Can Be Assessed Civilly?

  • Paying for damages by being required to pay the retail price of items not returned in good condition to sell.
  • Penalized for the amount of the retail price cannot to exceed $1000
  • Court Imposed Penalty = $100-$500
  • Attorneys Fees= provided the owner had to file the court case to get their property or money back and incurred fees.

A lesser known part of Theft Charges is that minors who commit acts of shoplifting or theft can have repercussions on the minors parents. The responsibility for the parents of the minor can include:

  • Retail price of the item stolen
  • Court Determined =$50-$500

 Click Here to Read More : Utah Code Ann. § 78B-3-108

 

Civil Damages In Utah

There are civil damages in Utah that may be asked for or awarded. This means that the victim is actually able and entitled to three times the actual damage. If damages either physically or monetarily were taken, demonstrated or acted against a person it will be determined eligible for reimbursement of any and all damages sustained during the theft. It will also be eligible for the victim to ask for attorney fees and costs. Click on these links to read more about:

 

 

 

Prior Convictions And Their Effects On Future Cases

Utah Has a rule that if you have offended in the previous 10 years or been convicted on two separate cases of any theft, burglary with intent to defraud, rob or commit these acts it will become a third degree felony to commit another crime. Read Here: Utah Code

 

If you have been accused of  theft, shop lifting , retail theft , theft by deception , fraud , forgery  , car theft, insurance fraud, identity theft , identity fraud  in Utah, you may want to speak with criminal attorneys Ogden  about criminal law Ogden. Further, Ogden Criminal defense is an experienced Criminal Defense Attorneys in Provo Utah can assist you in understanding all of your alternatives. The best criminal defense attorneys in Ogden or best criminal defense attorney in Lehi can help with your case. The best criminal defense attorney in Lehi or Ogden criminal defense attorney Stevens can help if you are faced with a Protective order violation. Ogden Criminal Defense is here to help. Ogden Criminal Lawyer, Vince Stevens can help. HD Gailey lawyers in American Fork are the best criminal defense attorneys Ogden